Cannabis Research for Chronic Pain

Webcasts

Wednesday May 25th, 10 am EDT | 7 am PDT | 9 am CDT | 2 pm GMT Learn how understanding the endocannabinoid system can also aid in the treatment and prevention of chronic pain.

Register Free: https://www.cannapatientcare.com/cpc_w/Chronic_P

Event Overview:

Chronic Pain affects 20% of our world’s population and has physical and psychological generators. According to a landmark report by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, “There is conclusive or substantial evidence that cannabis or cannabinoids are effective for the treatment of chronic pain in adults.” Multiple cannabinoids have been researched for different types of pain and can be used as an option to help reduce opioid dependence. Understanding the endocannabinoid system can also aid in the treatment and prevention of chronic pain.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the types of chronic pain and which cannabinoids, routes and doses are the most effective in clinical practice
  • Review the current evidence of cannabis and chronic pain including central sensitization, fibromyalgia, neuropathic pain
  • Discuss how to optimize the endocannabinoid system to prevent chronic pain

Who Should Attend:

  • Patients, doctors, nurses, advocates, family members

Speakers

Michelle Weiner
DO, MPH
Spine and Wellness Centers of America

Dr. Michelle Weiner is double board-certified in Interventional Pain Medicine and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. She completed her residency and fellowship training at the University of Miami. She wasthe Chair of Florida’s Medical Cannabis Advisory Committee. Dr. Weiner’s unique approach of personalized and preventative medicine focuses on empowering her patients to cultivate health using lifestyle and plant medicine. Her research focuses on using cannabis as a substitute for opioids in chronic pain patients and cannabis’s effect on seniors with chronic pain. She is faculty and a preceptor at Nova Southeastern University in which she educates the medical students through shadowing opportunities in her office. Dr. Weiner is the Vice President of Mr. Psychedelic Law, a not-for-profit with the mission of responsible legal reform of psilocybin mushrooms in Florida. She is conducting an IRB approved clinical trial through the university of Miami on ketamine assisted psychotherapy for chronic pain and depression comparing routes of administration. She uses cannabis and ketamine-assisted psychotherapy as a catalyst to identify the root cause of one’s suffering optimizing their quality of life.

Register Free: https://www.cannapatientcare.com/cpc_w/Chronic_P